birdscan2

 

There are a few different things going on here. First, both of my children are in school now. For the first time in more than 5 years I have a stretch of time all to myself that is longer than 12 minutes and during daylight hours.  I’ve been saving up for this moment.  Here are some of the possibilities that ran through my head as I contemplated what to do with all that time:

Clean the house.

Get a job.

Bake every recipe from Dorie Greenspan’s book “Baking: From My Home to Yours”

Go back to school.

Nap with the cats.

Exercise.

Meditate.

Play my fiddle.

Sew.

Learn how to knit.

Start my own business.

I’ve decided to do all of these. Except the first two, cleaning and getting a job. Also, napping with the cats, though enticing, will have to wait until I’m a little older.  No naps.    And maybe not all of Dorie’s recipes. And by “going back to school” I mean taking online courses through Coursera and learning things the old-fashioned way.

Some of you may remember way back in 2008 when I was selling bags on Etsy. I loved that. I wasn’t trying to make a business out of it though and when I ran out of fabric I closed up shop, happy with what I’d been able to accomplish ($600 in donations to help fight hunger). It always seemed to me that if I wanted to run that as a business I was going to need to put in more time. So I waited. Not always so patiently.

So today, I’m here putting together what I hope will be a long-term endeavor to create, make, share, help and journey through art, craft, music, passion and love.

Now, I could have kept this all to myself. I could have sweated and slaved in the privacy of my own home, keeping secret my ideas (good and bad), hiding my struggles (good and bad) and waited to share all this with you until it was “perfect.”  Until everything matched, all the buttons worked and the floor had been swept clean.  But that seemed somewhat dishonest and since nothing I ever do is “perfect” I wouldn’t have ever shared. That’s no fun.

What you’ll see here is me learning. Right now I’m learning how to use Adobe Illustrator.  And I’m learning it primarily through trial and error.  The designs I’ve made so far are the results of those lessons.  The one I posted last night was an absolute miracle! But I haven’t seen them in fabric yet and though I know the colors on my screen (probably yours too) do not reflect what they will look like once printed, I’m still not entirely sure what I’ll do once I have them (in couple of weeks I hope).  I have one more fabric idea in mind and then I will let those sit and sprout for a while as I work on other things.

I do know that Ellen needs a tooth fairy pouch.  Any day now her teeth will start falling out and I want to be ready.  I’m also going to turn my little bird into a stamp, or two. I love making my own notecards. Maybe someone else would like to buy these things from my shop? I don’t know, but I’m going to find out.  I also want reuseable fabric produce bags and will start experimenting with those soon too.

In the “less than well-formed ideas” arena are embroidery, mixed media art, photography, crochet, and bags.  I have also discovered watercolor pencils.

Now what sort of questions do you have?

Sharon, are you prepared to pay taxes?

Sharon, have you thought about how you will ship things?

Sharon, what level of inventory will you keep?

Sharon, what exactly will you be posting on Facebook?

Sharon, how much do you plan on investing in all this?

It’s all fair game, ask away!

