Coffee. That’s how it should start. A glorious cup o’ joe. My husband has been roasting his own coffee beans lately and then he makes the most fragrant, delicately caramel/chocolate coffee I’ve ever had. I don’t even stop at coffee shops anymore. I just have to wait until Sunday. It is totally worth the wait.

Then I make breakfast. Waffles, pancakes, bacon, sausage, fresh fruit, granola w/yogurt, french toast, homefries, but lately I’ve been struggling with a new development: an allergy to milk and eggs. It’s amazing just how many eggs and how much milk and its derivatives go into breakfast foods. I’ve been combing through Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s vegan cookery books, and they are wonderful, and the recipes work and everyone enjoys them and yes we still eat all the bacon and sausage. But change is hard. My next challenge will be Easter. I’ll keep you posted. 😉

I joined back in with the WIP Wednesday’s over at Freshly Pieced. It’s a great way to connect with the online sewing community, share ideas and keep up the momentum.  So my weekly progress reports will be tied with that on Wednesdays. Sundays are more for meditation anyway than lots of being busy.

This past week as I’ve begun to catch up on all the blogs I like to follow I’ve found two from very different spheres that intersect in the most beautiful ways. Thomas Knauer Sews and Ordinary Courage by Brené Brown. Mr. Knauer has been sharing some very deep and powerful thoughts on art, craft, community and what it all means to be human and Dr. Brown is all about what it all means to be human.

It’s not fair for me to try to sum up who they are and what they say, scroll through their blogs, watch Dr. Brown here, she’s also on with Oprah today. You’ll see. You can feel it. It’s hard to describe.

For me personally the intersection lies in connection. We do the things we do in order to connect with one another. Unless we’re not doing that, then we’re doing other things that may not be very helpful.

So today I’m all wrapped up in a cozy quilt of connecting with humanity. My own, my children, my family and friends, the great beyond of how we’re all connected to each other and our earth.

I sew, knit, crochet, cook, bake, quilt, bead, make music, pick up the phone, photograph, talk a walk in the woods, plant a seed, send a card, compost, read, sing, hug, kiss, laugh, cry and love all so I can connect.

Mr. Knauer asked on his blog yesterday, “why?”

My only answer is to smile and say “You’ll see.”

1-DSC_0358

